Costa Maya Chacchoben Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Chacchoben Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Deep in the Mexican jungle, Chacchoben is among the most famous ruins in Cozumel. These ancient pyramids have been excavated and restored, and now stand as testament to the myths and rituals of the mysterious Mayan peoples.
Member Image kyboymom
1 review
May 2017
This was definitely the highlight of the Cruise. I couldn't have been more pleased with our excursion experience with The Native Choice. The tour group size was very small and personable. Our guides name was Edder and he was fantastic. His English was very good and he was very informative regarding their culture and the history of the Mayan Ruins. I would highly recommend them!
Read kyboymom's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: The Native Choice
Member Image leoduren
1 review
May 2017
Was outstanding! I would HIGHLY recommend this excursion. Not nearly as crowded as Chichen Itza. Lots of time to stroll and take photos in between info sessions.
Read leoduren's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Beer drinker
1 review
May 2017
Enjoyed seeing the ruins. The trip to the park was about 90 min, and the park was only a 45 min visit. Then on to a private beach for lunch, drinks and a chance to swim in the water. Very relaxing for a couple of hours, then back to the ship. Not a lot of time for extra shopping.
Read Beer drinker's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image HypnotistCory
1 review
May 2017
The port itself is just a port...the town of Costa Maya was hit by a hurricane a few years back and so there is literally nothing to do here if you don't book an excursion other than port shopping. That being said, the Ruins tour was great! It's a bit of a ride out there, a little over an hour, but our tour guide was excellent on the bus and gave us tons of info before we got there. The site is partially restored and partially not, so you really get the sense of what nature does to it over time, as well as the restored buildings that give you a taste of what it was like in Mayan times.
Read HypnotistCory's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image aschroepfer
1 review
May 2017
This was a great excursion. You take a bus ride for about an hour. The tour guide, who was awesome and extremely knowledgeable, gave us a lot of information on the ride there, including a description of the general area. Once we arrived, we had about 2 hours or so at the ruins, which to me was about the perfect amount of time. The tour guide took us through the ruins and gave us plenty of time for pictures. There is one point where you can climb some of the ruins, or opt out to if you don't think you can handle the climb, but it was totally worth it. I heard one woman complaining that she was not able to "do stuff" like she wanted (which I interpreted to mean going off on her own and climbing everything), which I thought was pretty ridiculous. These ruins are thousands of years old. No, you can't just to climbing wherever you want. It's a guided tour. I will warn people that it's extremely hot and humid, but there was a lot of shade. Still, we were all dripping with sweat and happy to see the air conditioned bus at the end of the tour. Oh, and remember that bug spray! The mosquitoes are everywhere. My sister and her friend apparently did not realize that they can bite through clothes and got bit a good bit on their legs. Spray everywhere and you'll be fine. My mom and I (who grew up more around mosquitoes) did not get a single bite. Overall, I highly recommend this tour if you are looking to see some ruins.
Read aschroepfer's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dwdonaldson
1 review
Apr 2017
Going to the ruins was by far our favorite part of the entire cruise! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and informative. The ruins were very impressive!
Read dwdonaldson's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ford prefect
1 review
Apr 2017
Guide was a retired anthropologist who knew extensive information about Mayan culture and history. Great. Book early AM, it gets HOT in the jungle. Bring and use bug repellent.
Read ford prefect's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Gary72
9 reviews
Apr 2017
Wonderful, friendly, and informative tour. Went with a group of about 10.
Read Gary72's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Maya tours
Member Image Laurarc
6 reviews
Apr 2017
We booked the deluxe tour which was well worth the extra money. Our tour guide, Daniel, was outstanding. Being Mayan himself he was able to share the incredible culture and traditions of the Mayan people. He had vast knowledge and expertise and was excited to share the beauty of his people and ruins we explored.
Read Laurarc's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tracy80
1 review
Apr 2017
Hoped off boat and walked to Toucan Tour office to book the tour to the ruins. Enjoyed by all of us ages 65 to 9. It was really impressive and informative. Lots of trees there too for shade so didnt get too hot. Tour then dropped us back at the ship or
Read tracy80's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Toucan Tours
Member Image stevenschultz50
1 review
Apr 2017
A/C ride for 50 minutes with great narration by Diego of customs, some history and today's natives. The ruins are impressive to walk on and around. We also visited a Mayan village family nearby. We learned of customs, homes, plants used for beauty, cooking, medicinal uses as well as several local dances performed. The Mayan based lunch meal was delicious with variety, etc. We would give this a #1 priority to anyone. We learned two Mayan words: Junbotek and Malo Keen... ask what they mean when you arrive.
Read stevenschultz50's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cruise Excursioneer
Member Image BillTrek
2 reviews
Apr 2017
Fantastic!! Ruins, Butterfly Farm, and great lunch on the beach. Was best food on the entire trip!
Read BillTrek's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Maya Trips, Island Marketing
Member Image Kristinl
1 review
Apr 2017
Guide was great and very friendly
Read Kristinl's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JCKarina
1 review
Apr 2017
Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and informative. Learned a lot about the people, ruins, wildlife, and vegetation. Well worth it!
Read JCKarina's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kewluke
2 reviews
Mar 2017
We were able to visit Chccchoben withn a small group and it made all the difference. Our guide was a local descendent of Mayans. He was excited and honored to share the history of his poeple with us. He made the tour "come alive". The Ruins themselves are very impressive. If you have a chance, go with a small group and take the time to appereciate the people and the space.
Read kewluke's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image Javahund
1 review
Mar 2017
For me, this was the highlight of our trip, to so see the Mayan ruins. The guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. Note that the trip went from 10:30 to 2:30 and did not include lunch.
Read Javahund's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jomaro
1 review
Mar 2017
Excellent tour guide. Learned a lot about the ruins and Mayan culture. Highly recommended!
Read Jomaro's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Native choice
Member Image furnrep
2 reviews
Mar 2017
This was an excellent tour of the ruins and a great guide and driver. The vans were all virtually new maxi van types and with bottled water for all. Very interesting and reasonable compared to the ones offered by Oceania. our guide was Mayan himself and very knowledgeable about the Mayan culture therefore. we were able to see up close some great examples of Mayan architecture and sites used for various ceremonial events. On the return trip to Costa Maya and our ship, the driver stopped to allow those who wanted to buy some fresh sliced locally grown pineapple! Oh, it was so sweet you could even eat the core!
Read furnrep's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Native Tours
Member Image Rohhib70
1 review
Mar 2017
The ride there was 55 minutes each way. Take car seats for small children as they will use them! The walk is very uneven and I had to constantly look down to make sure of my footing. I waited for the others on a bench while they climbed the steps (many of them) and still felt I got my money's worth from the experience.
Read Rohhib70's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image k10_north
1 review
Mar 2017
Very informative! Great history lesson as well as exploring. Our guide was Diana and she was wonderful. Answered every question. Great for kids and adults.. adults got to learn a bit about the culture and kids loved climbing all over the ruins.
Read k10_north's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Matt195
1 review
Mar 2017
Wish we had more time to explore the sites more. Greatly enjoyed the excursion but would have been better with more time.
Read Matt195's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sionainn
1 review
Mar 2017
Tour guide "Gerry" was fantastic and provided a lot of interesting details regarding the area, culture, history... He made the bus trip there and back fun and very informative. The motor coach seemed safe and was quite comfortable. Ruins were very impressive - a must see!
Read Sionainn's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image seadog007
1 review
Mar 2017
The ruins themselves were small. The guide, Luis, and the Beach and Lunch were exceptional. Highly recommended.
Read seadog007's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image clxpert
1 review
Feb 2017
The guide was very knowledgable and definitely loves what she is doing. She made the hour long bus ride pass by very quickly by entertaining us with interesting tidbits about the Mayan culture.
Read clxpert's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Emairis
1 review
Feb 2017
Very good. Excellent tour guide presentation on the history of the Mayan ruins and culture. Good English. Plenty of time to take pictures and not rushed. Did some shopping also.
Read Emairis's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?