Juneau Mendenhall Glacier Excursion Reviews

Juneau Mendenhall Glacier cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Mendenhall Glacier is easy accessible from Juneau and one fo the most popular attractions among cruise travelers. This magnificent glacier measures 12 miles long!
Member Image dcolosi
1 review
Jun 2017
Having seen the Dawes Glacier earlier in the day, I was exhausted from the very long and uncomfortable almost 4 hour trip from Dawes to Juneau on the small excursion boat.
Read dcolosi's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image kandtcarroll
1 review
Jun 2017
Beautiful but we only had an hour which was not long enough to really experience the glacier but too long to simply visit the visitor's center. We wound up waiting for the bus.
Read kandtcarroll's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jimzgrlz
1 review
Jun 2017
We really enjoyed this part of the tour. I wish we would have had a bit more time to hike out to the waterfall and back. Worth the visit. Dress in layers, the weather can change quickly.
Read jimzgrlz's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image goddessmama
2 reviews
Jun 2017
Booked with Juneau tours. Well organized. Allowed as much time at the glacier as we wanted with buses back to town every 1/2 hour.
Read goddessmama's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Juneau Tours
Member Image Frozenshades
1 review
May 2017
The glacier is beautiful scenery, I just wished we would have had more time there.
Read Frozenshades's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Lorzy
2 reviews
May 2017
A great opportunity to walk (or a very easy hike) to see the Glacier and FANTASTIC waterfall. The visitor's center was excellent. Our bus driver/tour guide was exceptional and on our way to the glacier we must have seen 50 Bald Eagles sitting in fields along the way. It was exceptional!
Read Lorzy's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image wranglerkb
4 reviews
May 2017
Walked to the glacier and Golden Nugget Falls - very enjoyable- a must see!
Read wranglerkb's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jillou323
1 review
May 2017
The Mendenhall glacier is amazing. I also walked the mile to see Nugget Falls. They were beautiful. I made it back in plenty of time to look around the gift shop, but I didn't have time to see the movie in the visitor's center.
Read jillou323's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image moorookar2b
1 review
May 2017
Glacier was a great tour and we watched a bear with twin cubs.
Read moorookar2b's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image Weboos2
3 reviews
May 2017
Brief coach transfer, then you make your own way to the walking trails, which are very easy.
Read Weboos2's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image LindaJ24
1 review
May 2017
We saw a Mama Bear with her three bear cubs at the Glacier. We also visited Glacier Gardens and the Salmon Hatchery.
Read LindaJ24's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image chandler8az
1 review
May 2017
All was good except the Bus Driver did not pick us up at Mendenhall Glacier until 15 minutes after they'd closed for the day.
Read chandler8az's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TX Sailor 47
2 reviews
May 2017
The area was crowded and a little more time would have been better. Maybe one of the helicopter with landing, or rafting in would be better. Still had time to hike out for great photos and better views.
Read TX Sailor 47's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Gilbert Cruisers
2 reviews
May 2017
This was a fabulous tour with the exception that the time at Mendenhall was much too short. We decided to hike out to Nugget Falls and barely got back to the van in time. We never did get to see the visitors center! Our guide was funny and informative. He also took us over to Douglas Island to get a great picture of our ship.
Read Gilbert Cruisers's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Discover card tours
Member Image AZGolfingGrandma
1 review
May 2017
We took a shuttle to the glacier and were able to walk up to Nugget Falls near the end of the glacier. We also enjoyed a tour of Juneau and some of the countryside. Great day to see eagles, and the guide was very knowledgeable.
Read AZGolfingGrandma's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image atlcruizr
6 reviews
May 2017
The Mendenhall glacier is a must see in Juneau. Make sure you book a tour that gives you enough time to hike the trails and see nugget falls. The Mendenhall hall glacier also has a nice visitor center.
Read atlcruizr's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Juneau Tours
Member Image Panama5933bd
1 review
May 2017
Breath taking view.
Read Panama5933bd's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image steveg49
2 reviews
May 2017
Breathtaking beauty with a huge waterfall to boot.
Read steveg49's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image JackieLee
1 review
May 2017
Beautiful area to explore. I would have given it 5 stars but our bus driver, Jerry, was like listening to a bad lounge act. We prayed for silence.
Read JackieLee's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Cpt Skip01
1 review
May 2017
Mendenhall Glacier is beautiful to look at but it was poring down rain our whole stay and it just wasn't much fun.
Read Cpt Skip01's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image KansasinJune
1 review
May 2017
Must see, take the mile hike to Nugget falls
Read KansasinJune's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image extex1
1 review
May 2017
Mendenhall was also quite fascinating. Completely majestic, just like Hubbard Glacier. You don't quite fully appreciate the size, as well as the environmental aspects, unless you see it for yourself!
Read extex1's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image csherriff
1 review
May 2017
Hike was more of a walk and would not be difficult for someone who is not athletic.
Read csherriff's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image debbiedu
1 review
May 2017
self guided walk it was truly enjoyable as we were accompanied by our naturalists whose enthusiasm was contagious and also an amazing photographer
Read debbiedu's full Admiralty Dream cruise review
Provider: Alaskan Dream Cruises
Member Image AAviator
1 review
May 2017
Very impressive to see Mendenhall Glacier up close.
Read AAviator's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?