St. Kitts Island tour Excursion Reviews

St. Kitts Island tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
With a population hovering around 35,000, the small island of St. Kitts is a gem of the Caribbean. Home to a plethora of beautiful beaches, the island also holds Brimstone Hill Fortress National Park, the largest fortress ever built in the Eastern Caribbean and among the best preserved in the Americas.
Member Image just6bp
1 review
Jun 2017
Least liked island out of all of them. Did a little shopping and an island tour. I only took about 3 pictures the entire time.
Read just6bp's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursion Group
Member Image LISP
4 reviews
May 2017
Full day adventure of tour of the island, hiking in the rainforest, snorkeling, beach, sugar mill ruins and Diggie the Monkey! Lunch and beverages provided
Read LISP's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: My island tours with Javin
Member Image zanamix
1 review
May 2017
Very beatiful places, incredibles beaches.
Read zanamix's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Beth K.
1 review
May 2017
Excellent way to see the island
Read Beth K.'s full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image graycliff
1 review
May 2017
With his great speaking voice and knowledge of history Mr. Grey brings the tales and history of St. Kitts to life. This tour is truly great and gives an extensive overview of St. Kitts and its Parishes. As visitors we always have many choices as to where to spend our vacation dollars, but Mr. Grey really makes you feel special. His tour involves all of his guests as he regales you with tales of his life and people of St. Kitts. The scenery and the stops add to the overall experience of this excursion, but make no mistake Mr. Grey himself is the star attraction against a beautiful backdrop. PS if your stop includes the Gardens make sure you try a piece of the rum cake maybe the best I have ever had. Visited May 2017
Read graycliff's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Thenford Grey
Member Image georgiacat
3 reviews
Apr 2017
We booked with Grey's Island Excursions for another wonderful day of touring. There were 8 people in the small bus. I loved the Batik demonstration and the Brimstone Hill Fortress. We bought BBQ chicken and coke at the fort for lunch. Delicious for just $5. Again, loved the scenery. After the tour he took us to a beach for a little over an hour. We rented chairs and umbrella. He was very accommodating and asked us when we wanted to be picked up to return to the ship. We were at ship about 4 pm.
Read georgiacat's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Grey's Island Excursions
Member Image bobito
9 reviews
Apr 2017
Same as with Nassau. Pick the right operator who is clears on your wishes
Read bobito's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image adriennelo
1 review
Apr 2017
Books through viator, which was cheaper than through the cruise. Romney Manor had pretty grounds, and the fortress is a must-see. The driver/guide was pleasant.
Read adriennelo's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Tropical Tours
Member Image italian stallion
6 reviews
Apr 2017
Beulah Mills was our guide who was eclectic to say the least, wonderful lady who was very interesting...found her on-line took the Lunchtime tour, very reasonable $15/person. Good tour. recommended
Read italian stallion's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Welcome Tours
Member Image lberia
1 review
Apr 2017
As before always great to see the city and countryside and the ocean is amazing. Our favorite island!
Read lberia's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: don't know, from outside of pier
Member Image quispamchick
1 review
Mar 2017
Great value for the price. Tour guide "Sackville" was very knowledgeable and fun. It was a full day tour that went around most of the island. Included the Fort, botanical gardens and the beach. Smaller buses (maximum 12) made it easy to manage and allowed the guide to focus on everyone.
Read quispamchick's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Thenford Grey Tours.
Member Image Kreader
5 reviews
Mar 2017
Took island tour off ship. $20.00 for over 3 hours. Tour guide-Charlie was really good,lots of information. Note-Romney Manor now charges to visit. I did not pay because I had been there many times.
Read Kreader's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image scott_r_nelson
1 review
Mar 2017
Double decker train before the catamaran. Very fun! Great guide, fun to hear the history of the island, great scenery.
Read scott_r_nelson's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image sue042568
1 review
Feb 2017
Great tour of the island. I would definitely recommend this one. They even offer free wifi on their tour bus! The views from the fort are awesome.
Read sue042568's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Thedford Grey's Grand Tour
Member Image fumita
1 review
Feb 2017
Captain Sunshine Island tour and beach break was awesome! Our tour guide was great and the beach they took us too was beautiful and uncrowded.
Read fumita's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Captain Sunshine
Member Image CintiCruzer
1 review
Feb 2017
the Batik factory was interesting and the island tour was very interesting... saw enough to make me want to come back to explore more!
Read CintiCruzer's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image PianoBabe1
1 review
Feb 2017
The Fairview Great House was good. You could easily envision the lives of its owners, and the flora were varied and intriguing. One of the few places on our cruise that had a nice area to sit and have a cold drink. LOVED the opportunity for free time in Basseterre. One of the few islands where the cruise ship port is in close proximity to the city center, so you can explore with no worries about getting back to the ship on time.
Read PianoBabe1's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image leochen24551
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Took the train tour which was great!
Read leochen24551's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image OBX Cruisers
1 review
Jan 2017
Really enjoyed our “Grand Tour of St. Kitts” with Henry Williams of Thenford Grey Tours We were met at the visitors center by a young woman who put us into the very capable hands of our guide, Henry Williams, and we boarded a small, comfortable van with just 4 others. Started with a quick drive through of Basseterre pointing out the important sights. (Some day I’d like to spend more time exploring the “city.”) Then a drive along the coast through an area of “offshore” medical and veterinarian schools. (I didn’t realize there were so many on St. Kitts.) The grounds at Romney Manor were lovely and Henry pointed out many of the unusual plants and trees such as the Traveler Palm. Good amount of time to shop at Caribelle Batik there and enjoy rum punch and a small piece of locally made rum cake. (These snacks and later lunch were not included in the price of the tour. That was fine as the cost of $55 was so reasonable.) From Romney Manor it was just a little further to Brimstone Hill Fortress National Park. This is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and well worth the climb up the stone steps to the top for the fort and beautiful views of St. Kitt’s coastline. Fort was really well preserved and fun to explore as well with many exhibits. None of us felt we needed to shop (one of the options) so we drove instead out onto the Southeast Peninsula stopping for pictures of the Atlantic and the Caribbean (in just one shot). When we arrived at South Friars Bay on the Caribbean side, we were given the choice of beaches between a more upscale resort or less expensive but with all the amenities. We decided on Shipwreck Beach Bar & Grill and it made for a very fun afternoon. Rustic décor but good showers, changing rooms, and excellent drinks and local menu with fresh seafood. Picnic tables under shady pavilion or trees. Beach was a little narrow but they had plenty of umbrellas and lounges available. We brought our own snorkel masks and blow-up vests but rented fins for just $5 for the two of us. There was a sign warning about black sea urchins, but we only saw them on the reef further out where the water was deep and they could easily be avoided. Not spectacular snorkeling but life along reef was good. The day would have been perfect if the monkeys on the hill behind the beach had decided to come out but not my cruise for monkeys. (Didn’t see them on Antigua either.) Easy ride from there back to the ship and arrived in plenty of time before sailing. Definitely the best value excursion of our cruise. Saw the best of St. Kitts in a comfortable van with only 2 other couples, excellent guide, fun beach/snorkel time, and fresh a la carte food from the Shipwreck Grill. Can’t believe it was all for just $55 per person!
Read OBX Cruisers's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Thenford Grey Tours
Member Image Lazer207
1 review
Jan 2017
Good overview of island and excellent visit to Fairview Great House and Botanical Garden
Read Lazer207's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Btown cruiser
4 reviews
Jan 2017
The taxi/tour leaders that bombard you as you arrive off of the ship is OVERWHELMING! We opted to ignore their aggressiveness and walk into town. Along the way, we were approached by Bertram who arrived the four of us a van ride around the island for a very nominal fee. Something about his pleasant, non-aggressive demeanor, and his "uniform" won us over. He took us from tip to tip in ST Kitts with a stop at the Fort, the Romney House of Batik, and the point where the Atlantic meets the Caribbean sea! He initially offered a three hour tour which because of his expertise and pride in the sites of the Island turned into a four memorable trip.
Read Btown cruiser's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Bertram with The Watch
Member Image NDUFFY
1 review
Jan 2017
Toured the island of Nevis then spent the afternoon at the beach. It was a great tour and friendly people
Read NDUFFY's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image HP4Me
1 review
Jan 2017
We went to a place where they made batik items; there was a beautiful garden area that we spent some time in there as well. We toured the island and it was fine.
Read HP4Me's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image C1968cruiser
3 reviews
Jan 2017
Thenford was very knowledgeable and entertaining, and we enjoyed touring the island. He took us to the fort, the batik factory, and to the beach. Check it out on trip advisor. Very popular and highly rated.
Read C1968cruiser's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Thenford Grey
Member Image ashleyg13
3 reviews
Jan 2017
overall a bit average and the description was easy and was more like medium, the batik place was over crowded when we arrived rather disappointing
Read ashleyg13's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?