Antigua Kayaking Excursion Reviews

Antigua Kayaking cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Antiguans like to boast that they have 365 beaches -- one for each day of the year. And while no one is really counting to ensure the accuracy of this catchy marketing campaign, it's true that this squiggly-shaped island is full of beachy gems, each with their own unique appeal. The best beach for active types is Dickenson Bay, just a five- to 10-minute taxi ride from the cruise ship dock.
Member Image Tarnlake
1 review
Apr 2017
This was the Kayak and Snorkel Eco Adventure. We went by air conditioned van to a point in the north of the island where we met our boats to take us to a group of smaller islands to go kayaking. Our guides were informative and funny. They showed us conch and star fish that they found while we kayaked. Safety was top rate especially since there were several young children in the group. After kayaking around the mangrove for a short while, we went to another small island with a nice beach where we spent some time snorkeling. We had the same guide who was terrific. Finally we returned to our original starting point which was a lovely estate with chairs scattered about the grounds where we relaxed and were served delicious home baked banana bread and punch. Our hosts at the estate were very gracious. When our vans arrived we had a nice drive back to the ship. This was a top rate excursion run by very thoughtful and knowledgeable people. I highly recommend it.
Read Tarnlake's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Jim and Amy
1 review
Mar 2017
The kayaking through the mangroves was much better. We saw turtles, conch and starfish and lots of birds.
Read Jim and Amy's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image MitchFam67
1 review
Mar 2017
Long bus ride but got to see some "culture" outside of the port. Fun excursion of kayak in the mangos, snorkeling around coral reefs, and a small hike up a hill for excellent views
Read MitchFam67's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image paininthebutt
1 review
Mar 2017
Very good tour. From the boat, the guides took you to a dock area where you had a quick safety briefing and were put onto boats. From there you took a quick ride to the dock where the kayaks were kept. After getting suited up, the guides took you out to the mangroves. The guide was helpful, knowledgeable, and very professional. From there, back to the dock and whisked out to Bird Island. We had a "hike" which was really a 5 minute walk up a path to the top of a little hill. Then back down to the beach for some to snorkel while others (like me) stayed ashore and enjoyed some of the local beers (cheap and tasty). Very good tour and would recommend.
Read paininthebutt's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image PurpleOrchid67
2 reviews
Feb 2017
This was our favourite P&O trip. We were driven across the island to an activity centre where we were taken on a boat ride through the mangroves. We landed at a kayak station where after some instructions we set off in double manned kayaks following our guide through the mangroves. At intervals he stopped to show us various sea creatures & provide us with information. We then went by boat to a beautiful stretch of water where we snorkelled over a reef. Following this we went to Bird Island where we climbed a short hill to experience the views. Back down on the gorgeous beach we swam & were then given rum punch & banana cake. The trip finished with a fast boat ride back to the base.
Read PurpleOrchid67's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image kctraveler
3 reviews
Jan 2017
The ride by bus was about 40 minutes to get to the tour. Ernest was our guide and captain and was great. First he gave you snorkel gear and then took us out on the boat to o pick up ocean kayaks at a dock by the mangrove trees. They were ocean kayaks with no backs and were the most uncomfortable kayaks I have used and we kayak frequently. There wer also a number of brand new kayakers who unfortunately had difficulty getting through some of the narrow waterways. Ernest did a good job telling us about the mangroves, finding a star fish and sea cucumber to hold. We had one couple whose husband gas parkinons and could normally do a kayak trip but since the kayaks had no backs, he had no support but Ernest went out of his way to try to help his wife get him comfortable. The waters started getting rough and it started to rain so we headed back to the dock and the boat, where we were then taken to a floating dock in the middle off the bay where they tad the stingrays. The stingrays are not enclosed but they were trained that when they heard boats the would cone in since they knew they would be fed. There were several wranglers in waste deep water who would bring over a stingray which you can hold and have your picture taken. They then brought you to another where they showed you hold to hold a piece of squid that you then feed to the stingrays - so cool. All the while the stingrays are bumping into you and swimming by. You then can snorkel in a coral reef area where there are multiple other types of fish to see. It is on this part of the tour that Ernest showed how king and wonderful he was. He lifted the man with Parkinson's and placed him in the water and walked with him and held him so he could experience everything we did. He did leave his side. It made you truly appreciate the kindness of others. The staff were great. We then went back to the boat to go back a shoe but it started to rain and Ernest got us back quickly but between the rain and splash from the boat, you got wear all over again. On shore they prided rum
Read kctraveler's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Wingedangel111
1 review
Dec 2016
Boat trip, kayaking and some beach, snorkel time. It was rougher waters than we expected. Very pretty scenery and great beer that we could purchase on the beach.
Read Wingedangel111's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image travelforadventure
1 review
Nov 2016
Run by Antigua Paddles through the cruise line. Fantastic time, great snorkeling in clear waters and fun kayaking!
Read travelforadventure's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image onyourmark
16 reviews
Nov 2016
Kayak was fun with nature talk by the guide.
Read onyourmark's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image dutchgirldtd
1 review
Oct 2016
A very large tour group was divided into small busloads and we were taken to the home of the family who runs this tour (about a half hour drive). We then went by motor boat to an island where a short hike took us to a beautiful view of the area; again by boat to an area for snorkeling and then to an area where mangroves grow for kayaking; then we had some free time on the same little island as where the hike was before returning to the starting point for banana bread and something to drink. Everything was very well-organized. No complaints!
Read dutchgirldtd's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MsSadie
5 reviews
May 2016
This was not one of our favorite excursion. The snorkeling location wasn't very good and was very brief. It wasn't easy to get in and out of the boat for the snorkeling either. We had fun doing the kayaking, our guide was very knowledgeable. We enjoyed the post adventure banana bread and punch.
Read MsSadie's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Purple Princess
2 reviews
Mar 2016
This was our second time for this trip, we actually tried to book it through the ship, but it was full, so we were able to book it through shoretrips, and we ended up on the same bus with everyone from the ship. We knew that would happen, because both ads from the ship as well as from shore trips had the same picture! Worked out perfectly, and the trip was great, the bus ( with a friendly driver who pointed out interesting things along the way) took us to a beautiful private home from where we took a speedboat to a nice calm lagoon and we kayaked around little islands full of mangroves. Then we took another boat trip to Bird island, and those who wanted to could hike up to the top of the hill for some spectacular views. There was time for snorkeling or sitting on the beach,before heading back to the starting point where rum punch, water and delicious homemade banana cake was served in a beautiful tropical garden setting. They even offered free wifi.I overheard a few other people being welcomed back as repeat customers as well as us, which is not surprising - the guides and staff are so friendly and welcoming and provide a really fun experience.
Read Purple Princess's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore trips/ Antigua Paddles
Member Image rmb7010
1 review
Feb 2016
awesome adventure experience. after kayak went on a speed boat to an awesome little island with snorkeling, hiked to the top. best view ever
Read rmb7010's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Stuberto
1 review
Dec 2015
Great trip.... Nice drive through the island to a park which took us on speedboats through mangroves and onto our jetty. From here we kayaked for 45mins... Then speedboat to Bird Island, time for snorkel and then Island... Beware of rum punch! Lovely secluded island then back to boats and ship.
Read Stuberto's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image avn2525
3 reviews
Sep 2015
I recommend booking directly with Paddles (they partner with Royal for the snorkel/kayak excursion), but if you book directly with them, you save some money even though the experience is the same. The kayaking is great. Calm waters and they give you give information about the area and bring animals out of the water for you to see. The boat ride to the snorkel area is pretty. The hike on the island is a little strenuous, but totally worth it for the views. Snorkeling was pretty good, they take you off the beach a bit. You can also just stay and wait at the beach and they come back and get you. After all that you go back to the owner's house where they give you a wet cool cloth to clean up and they have bathrooms, drinks and little snacks for you. It is a beautiful area to relax in after a day in the sun. I highly recommend this tour.
Read avn2525's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Paddles Antigua
Member Image shera604
1 review
May 2015
We were i by a bus to the other side of the island where we boarded speed boats which took us to the kayak site. We kayaked around some small islands and mangroves, and the guide was picking out of the water some sea stars, sea urchins etc which we got to handle. After the kayaking we could snorkle or stay on a private beach. We were taken back to the owner's house where we were offered wet towellets and some refreshments, and allowed to relax in their private garden. Enjoyed very much.
Read shera604's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image wawheels12
1 review
Apr 2015
My husband and friend took this, I think this was his favorite excursion. You hike up some mountain that has a hole in it, then kayak, then snorkel at end. He enjoyed this one.
Read wawheels12's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image K&P<3Cruises
1 review
Mar 2015
We had a friendly driver take us on about a 30 minute drive out to this base of operations where we kayaked through some cool mangroves, then boated over to this bird sanctuary island for snorkeling and a short but steep eco hike. GREAT views, decent snorkeling. Kayaking was good exercise and nice to be in the sun. The guides showed us some of the sea critters in the very shallow waters as well.
Read K&P<3Cruises's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image COcruzzin
1 review
Mar 2015
BEST excursion of our trip. So much fun, great experience. Can't wait to go there to do this one again!! Fabulous views and the highlight of our entire cruise!
Read COcruzzin's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: same as with cruise line
Member Image Magicandbird
4 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2014

This was the highlight of our cruise. Antigua is a beautiful island and our excursion allowed us to experience it all. Our tour consisted of a land/historical tour during the bus ride to the launching point of our excursion. We boarded boats and headed to the kayak portion where we kayaked through the mangroves and got to see a variety of sea life. The kayak portion was much longer than expected and although tiring was well worth it. We then hiked to the top of one of the islands points where we were blessed with breathtaking views of the island. It wrapped up with some snorkeling which was nice. Overall, this was our favorite island and excursion for the trip.

Read Magicandbird's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: PaddlesAntigua
Member Image RevScott
4 reviews
Apr 2014
Got to see a lot of the island on the way out to the place. The boat ride, the kayaking and the hiking were wonderful. The guide was helpful and the kayak was not too strenuous.
Read RevScott's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image RevScott
4 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2014

We took the Eco Kayak trip. The kayak was not to extraneous as my wife feared. We learned a little bit about the islands eco-environment. We then when to little Bird Island which was beautiful. We opted to do a bit more hiking and photography and then lay out at the beach instead of snorkeling. Those who did snorkel said they had a good time as well. The beach on the far side of the island is small and rocky but very nice.

Read RevScott's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?