St. Thomas Magen Bay Beach Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas Magen Bay Beach cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Arguably St. Thomas' most gorgeous and calmest beach, Magen Bay includes a bar, a cafeteria-style eatery, and one of the islands best shops for beach wear. A small admission fee is well worth it!
Member Image knwhitesides
1 review
May 2017
Beach is beautiful! Wasn't very crowded. Bus ride there was curvy and kinda scary ,but fun. They stopped twice briefly to let us take some awesome pictures.
Read knwhitesides's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Xewrsw
1 review
Apr 2017
Loved the beach and the historical Blackbeard's Castle with pirate tour and 'statues.
Read Xewrsw's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jschapman1
1 review
Apr 2017
Horrible beach experience. No dedicated space/chairs, crowded and dirty. ...top 10 beach in the world? (Wait time on pier unacceptable.)
Read jschapman1's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image RickinFL
1 review
Apr 2017
Very nice beach
Read RickinFL's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image NorthCarolinaMommaof3
1 review
Apr 2017
Wished that excursion price included a beach chair or beverage! Great tour to see the town. The best part of the this tour was the stop at BlackBeard's Castle where we go swim (Which was a surprise) & use WiFi and enjoy a Blackbeard's Revenge beverage. Favorite time of the day was here!
Read NorthCarolinaMommaof3's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Richcruisers
1 review
Apr 2017
I did not enjoy this beach. The shoreline was crowded, beach chairs dated and the restroom/shower/changing area looked like it should be condemned. Sorry but this beach was extremely disappointing.
Read Richcruisers's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Charlea
1 review
Apr 2017
We had to rent chairs, which should have been included with the price of the excursion. The drinks were very reasonably priced.
Read Charlea's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image wwinsor
1 review
Apr 2017
Short tour of the town, black beards castle and then the beach which was amazing
Read wwinsor's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Grandma Gail
7 reviews
Mar 2017
Nice beach but hard to get out of the water due to a ridge.
Read Grandma Gail's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image estillcrew
1 review
Mar 2017
We had been to Sapphire Beach and really wanted to go to St. John, but didn’t want to do another catamaran ride since we had just done one the day before, and definitely didn’t want to take the long ferry ride there. So, we opted for Magen’s Beach Getaway even though the guy at the excursion desk tried to persuade us to go to Sapphire beach because he said that Magen's beach would be so crowded. We had been to Sapphire Beach and I really didn't think it would be that crowded since the excursion left at 2:00 PM. I was so right, the beach was not crowded at all, and they weren’t kidding when they said it is one of the ten prettiest beaches in the world. Our excursion left at 2:00 so that gave us plenty of time to shop beforehand. At 2:00, we took off in an open air bus and were on the beach around 2:25. They stopped along the way and let us off the bus to get that beautiful postcard picture overlooking Magen's Bay. We hopped back on the beach after everyone got their pics and headed to Magen's Bay. We placed our towels under the palm trees (there were no chairs available unless you wanted to rent them) and then we grabbed some beer from the bar there. We stayed on the beach for a little over two hours and then got back on our open air bus and headed back to port. It was a great, relaxing day.
Read estillcrew's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image navlynx
1 review
Mar 2017
It was 'interesting' riding in the 25 person taxi, but overall went smoothly and got us to the destination. We had very limited opportunities to take photos (the driver stoped once and a view point for about 3 minutes, otherwise it was a matter of trying to get pics from the moving taxi over other passengers). The main reason we took this excursion though was to get to a beach, and the beach at Magen Bay was nice, but quite crowded. I think the excursion was worth the money, but next time I might try to go to a less crowded beach if that's possible.
Read navlynx's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ABourque
1 review
Mar 2017
This was my second time at Magen's Bay and it never disappoints. The weather and water was perfect. We rented an open aired taxi that took us there for a few hours and back to the ship for lunch. We had a wonderful time.
Read ABourque's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Rented a Taxi
Member Image RohanE
1 review
Mar 2017
Had a great time touring this island; we had a great time at Magens Beach. The island itself is very tired, dirty, and the locals seem angry. Great shopping at the Port shopping village - bought beautiful diamonds for wifey.
Read RohanE's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image paininthebutt
1 review
Mar 2017
Stunningly beautiful beach. Loved it.
Read paininthebutt's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: None- went on our own
Member Image JimmyTheShoe
1 review
Feb 2017
Nothing spectacular. On the dirty side
Read JimmyTheShoe's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Took a taxi
Member Image PattiT
1 review
Feb 2017
We got there early and got a good spot with tables under trees. It got very crowded later on. We brought snorkel equipment but never saw any fish. We had a very enjoyable day on the beach and even got pizza for lunch which was quite good. Beverages were reasonably priced.
Read PattiT's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lfrommer
1 review
Feb 2017
Beautiful beach! Clean and not as crowded if you go farther past the gates. There is quite a lot of parking lot if you keep going!
Read lfrommer's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image PRechul
1 review
Jan 2017
Bad experience at the beach with the "rental" shop. The shop keeper told me with an attitude "This is a public beach not the Ritz Carlton". Staff who handled the beach chairs out on the beach were very "lazy" and not helpful.
Read PRechul's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image bubba40
1 review
Jan 2017
Had a great, extensive and informative bus tour with some good beach time. Really enjoyed this excursion.
Read bubba40's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mevs904
1 review
Jan 2017
Beautiful beach. Loved the combination of beach and shopping.
Read mevs904's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image WFlakus
1 review
Jan 2017
This beach was pretty peaceful. The water was a bit colder than I expected.
Read WFlakus's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image BethBLove2Cruise
1 review
Jan 2017
Beauitful beach. Nice drive to get there.
Read BethBLove2Cruise's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: taxi
Member Image DaveOB
1 review
Jan 2017
Been to Magen's Bay and had good experiences. This time it was not good. Water was full of seaweed and algue. Water was murky.
Read DaveOB's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Bobbyblue2005
1 review
Jan 2017
wonderful day at one 10 top beaches in the world
Read Bobbyblue2005's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dancezee
1 review
Jan 2017
our Kon Tiki tour was cancelled, so we went to Magen's Bay Beach. It was okay, but the bus driver almost left us. He was at the other end of the parking lot and no one knew.
Read dancezee's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?