Port Canaveral (Orlando) Universal Studios / Islands of Adventure Excursion Reviews

Port Canaveral (Orlando) Universal Studios / Islands of Adventure cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Go behind the scenes of your favorite movies at Universal Studios in Florida -- the world’s premier movie and TV based theme park, about an hour drive from Port Canaveral.
Member Image Sandking24
1 review
Jun 2017
Much better than Disney.
Read Sandking24's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: self
Member Image Portcall
1 review
May 2017
HARRY POTTER at Universal is an amazing trip into that world.
Read Portcall's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image zippydo1
1 review
Mar 2017
We purchased our tickets for Universal on line before the cruise. We specifically wanted to see the Harry Potter section so we had to get park to park tickets. Ship did not dock until afternoon. We were at the park before 2 pm. Last shuttle left park at 7:30 pm. We had plenty of time to do the Harry Potter area attractions.
Read zippydo1's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image spjm44
1 review
Mar 2017
Booked transportation but ticket to park bought at the park. Would have been better if ship arrived before noon. Only 5 hours at the park.
Read spjm44's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Guppy738
1 review
Feb 2017
Universal was top-notch. I got reacquainted with an old college buddy.
Read Guppy738's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mpmatt0
1 review
Dec 2016
had a good time but 4 hours is not enough after travel time.
Read mpmatt0's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bmairs
1 review
Nov 2016
Enjoyable for any movie buff, but some shows undergoing maintenance. Tried to get on one ride - stood in line for 45 min to find out that you need to have a waistline under 44" to go on the ride.
Read bmairs's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Self
Member Image redhotpokerb
1 review
Oct 2016
Rented a car for 40 dollars and bought tickets for 100 pp for universal studios. average 120 per person. better than the 200 pp provided by cruise
Read redhotpokerb's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Pamela36
1 review
Aug 2016
the Harry Potter stuff was awesome. really added something special to the Universal theme parks.
Read Pamela36's full Disney Dream cruise review
Provider: we booked it
Member Image fishgod
1 review
Aug 2016
Great time at Universal. Get the express pass, definitely worth it.
Read fishgod's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 2NattyFans
3 reviews
Apr 2016
It was about what I expected. A bus takes you to Universal and they give you you're ticket to get in. I think we had about 6 hours in the park which was more than enough for Universal. The bus ride takes about an hour.
Read 2NattyFans's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SandwichGenerationCruiser
1 review
Sep 2015
Universal is my family's all-time favorite park. They LOVE the 3D/technologically advanced rides such as The Simpsons, Spider-Man, Transformers, Harry Potter & the Forbidden Journey - and the best one yet: Gringott's Escape
Read SandwichGenerationCruiser's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image 224kimbo
1 review
Aug 2015
I booked the transfer only through Norwegian. It was cheaper to get the tickets on my own. In order to ride The Hogwarts Express, I had to get the two park option. I upgraded to the unlimited express pass, but this was a waste of money. I should have just gotten the regular express pass. We arrived at Universal a little after 2:00. We had to be back to the bus by 8:00. We had a blast!! The only reason why I rated this excursion average is because we did not have a lot of time in the park.
Read 224kimbo's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image EEagle
1 review
Aug 2015
With the travel time involved we barely got to do The Harry Potter Theme Rides. Had no time to eat but for some Ice Cream and had to wait until we got back to the ship.
Read EEagle's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Emmie79
1 review
Jun 2015
The park was impressive but we did not really have the time necessary to really see everything we perhaps would have liked to.
Read Emmie79's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Universal Studios directly
Member Image midnite48
2 reviews
Jun 2015
bus ride was about 45 min there.. on time.. we went on a wednesday in june and there were no lines. Harry potter was great.. bus ride back a little longer.. commute time and rain..
Read midnite48's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image nytefyter
2 reviews
Apr 2015
It didn't seem like the time allowed for the excursion was going to be enough, but it really was and the hour bus ride back to the ship gave us time to relax and nap before we were back in our floating vacation villa.
Read nytefyter's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cruiseswithwife
1 review
Apr 2015
price of bus trip way too expensive. Less than 5 hours is not nearly enough time at the park. Bus trip was way too expensive
Read cruiseswithwife's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dorothygaye
2 reviews
Apr 2015
The bus ride was quite pleasant and the bus clean and roomy. I had booked a ride to Disney by mistake and at the bus boarding the Quantum staff person and bus line employee that helped me couldnot have been nicer to make my change smooth. Universal not worth the hugh expense of admission and fast pass for a limited amount of time alloted.Next time someone complains about the crowds in NYC I will tell them to go to Universal Studios
Read dorothygaye's full Quantum of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cjm61
9 reviews
Mar 2015
Excellent fun! Well worth the money. We rode roller coasters and enjoyed the Harry Potter experience. Our first Butterbeer! Delicious! Perfect weather and although considered spring break time, lines moved fairly well and wait times were below what were advertised.
Read cjm61's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image chrissy128
1 review
Mar 2015

Universal was the only thing I got to enjoy. We had to buy an express pass to get on most rides in both parks which was expensive but since it was the one excursion I got to do I enjoyed it very much. It was really expensive and really busy.

Read chrissy128's full Quantum of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image DeepThinker
2 reviews
Mar 2015

Tour operator was a bit disorganized so we arrived at Universal 30 mins late. Universal was good for a one time visit, can't imagine the need to go back there. It wasn't busy so we were able to do some rides 4 times.

Read DeepThinker's full Quantum of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image caligirlnyc
6 reviews
Nov 2014

If you book this tour through the ship, make sure you are going to the right park. If you want to go to the new Harry Potter World, it is NOT AT ISLANDS OF ADVENTURE. My two friends, and I bought tickets to that park (the cruise staff told us it was at IA), and we were informed, after being in the park half an hour, that we were on the wrong side. It is at Universal Studios. Luckily, guest services switched our tickets, but not after we had wasted a little bit of time, and you know you don't have a lot of time there. Overall, the rides are a blast, and you can see most of the park in that small amount of time. Tip: TRY A FROZEN BUTTERBEER! WOW! We had a lot of fun. The bus ride is an hour each way, but it goes fast. A bit pricey, but worth it if you haven't been there yet.

Read caligirlnyc's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CTcruiser57
1 review
Apr 2014

Universal Studios by itself is great, however as an excursion, you don't really get a lot of time there. We were supposed to get into port at noon, but bad weather forced us to be an hour late. It's was an hour drive each way to the park. We got to the park at around 2:30 pm and had to be back at our bus by 8 pm. Before booking this excursion, it is a good idea to check what time the park closes, which may even give you less time to enjoy your excursion. An alternative to this excursion is to just buy the transfer, and buy your tickets online which may be cheaper.

Read CTcruiser57's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Pride314
1 review
Mar 2014

Universal Studios is great and I'd go there again. Having a Carnival bus take us there and back was very convenient. The only downside was the extremely high cost of this excursion.

Read Pride314's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?