Costa Maya Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Costa Maya Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore one of the island's "best kept secrets" in Mexico by touring the Mayan Ruins. Learn about myths, legends, and Mayan culture while enjoying its beautiful landscape.
Member Image SeaHorse1750
1 review
May 2017
Excellent Mayan guide who gave us not only the archeological history and facts of the ruins but the modern day update on Mayan and Mexican history.
Read SeaHorse1750's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Native Tours
Member Image Lovetulips
1 review
May 2017
These guys were fantastic! Juan Carlos is very knowledgeable and has a passion for the Mayan culture. We were given a wonderful tour by a wonderful guide, taken to a sweet little butterfly farm by a local biologist, and then returned safely with time to spare before the ship left port.
Read Lovetulips's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Mayan Tours
Member Image Dimmer
1 review
Apr 2017
informative and enoyable. Personally, it was too hot for me but others liked it
Read Dimmer's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image myyear16
1 review
Apr 2017
Our favourite excursion. Very knowledgeable, well organized. Excellent meal prepared by Mayan women.
Read myyear16's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: The Native Choice Mayan Experience
Member Image MORR
1 review
Mar 2017
Very nice man, informative & friendly Don't have to buy water as you leave ship Tour provides water to and from ship. Nice Ruins, take lots of pictures. Lots of walking, wear comfortable shoes. Bargain at shops & get it there, bc not the same stuff back at Port. Bring CASH if shopping & for tipping tour speaker if he's good.
Read MORR's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image EllieinNJ
1 review
Mar 2017
Long, long bus ride. Nice ruins.
Read EllieinNJ's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image Cookies4me
1 review
Mar 2017
Visited Kohunlich but it was a long drive, about 2 hours there and 2 hours back. Spent about an hour visiting the ruins. It's nice to be able to touch them and tour at my own pace. Tons of photos.
Read Cookies4me's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursioneer
Member Image cdmmgray
1 review
Mar 2017
In Costa Maya, Mexico, we did a walking tour of Mayan ruins, which were amazing. Very impressive and in much better condition/restoration than we expected.
Read cdmmgray's full Seven Seas Explorer cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Drenthe
2 reviews
Feb 2017
Enjoyed the trip to the ruins to see countryside. Ruins were very interesting and the line for the ladies restroom was not a surprise. Cold water was so pleasant. Back to the ship for lunch and relaxing.
Read Drenthe's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dsfromnj
5 reviews
Feb 2017
excellent guide who accompanied us to Dzibanche and Kohunlich Mayan sites.
Read dsfromnj's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image rubysue
12 reviews
Feb 2017
This tour consisted of a lot of time on the bus going between places. The ruins were interesting, but we were there a long time and I was unable to finish the tour due to the difficult walking conditions. The beach break included a late lunch buffet and free drinks on a remote beach north of the port. We got back VERY late and had to hoof it to the ship on the long dock, hoping we would make it. Our tour guide was good.
Read rubysue's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image kjbhome
1 review
Feb 2017
The ruins were great! Lunch not so much 2 pieces of bread 1 small slice of ham and 1 small slice of cheese and a banana. Served out of the bus drivers dirty cooler.
Read kjbhome's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kbunyard
1 review
Feb 2017
Great company and service. Would highly recommend for families. They were very conscientious and it was a comfortable drive. There was lots of information that they gave you and it was just a very pleasant trip with a great guide.
Read kbunyard's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image myob93
2 reviews
Feb 2017
We booked the Mayan Experience thru the Native Choice. Great excursion, highly recommend
Read myob93's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: The Native Choice
Member Image KAF82
1 review
Jan 2017
Excellent Excursion. We booked the later trip and although I was a long bus ride it was definitely worth it. The ruins are amazing, our guide was great (Roberto). It was very easy to find the location to meet us with the tour, the bus was comfortable, and everything was orderly.
Read KAF82's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Snixies
1 review
Jan 2017
Kohunliche and Dzibanche - about a 2 hour coach ride to get there but so worth it. The ruins at both are magnificent and there is an aura at each site - both are in the middle of the jungle and off the beaten track - Kohunliche more than Dzibanche I think. You can climb the temples at both to get spectacular views. I just loved both of these, and even people who had been to Chitchen Itza said these were better.
Read Snixies's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image EnviroChick14
1 review
Jan 2017
Visited Mayan Ruins and then had lunch with a Mayan Family. Amazing experience!
Read EnviroChick14's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image Yatsailor
1 review
Jan 2017
Wonderful tour of Choccoben ruins and lunch at a Mayan village. Hugo was an excellent guide at the ruins, and the lunch and experience after was worth the trip. Native Choice tours is about a 6 block walk beyond the port/shopping area, but well worth the walk.
Read Yatsailor's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Native Choice Tours
Member Image LarBear
5 reviews
Jan 2017
Kolcunich Maya ruins. Short walk outside of port, short wait. Long drive. Driver's english wasn't too good, but good enough. Ruins very interesting and well preserved. You can climb on the ruins, which is unusual in Mexico. Some ruins in Belize are higher, but this was still excellent.
Read LarBear's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursioneer
Member Image PerpetuallyCcuising
3 reviews
Jan 2017
The ruins at Kohunlich were magnificent - very quiet and immaculately kept. We were also able to climb some of the temples. The guide was very knowledgeable about the material.
Read PerpetuallyCcuising's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image bdrsuccess
1 review
Dec 2016
Interesting ruins, great guide, loved beach resort decent buffet drinks included.
Read bdrsuccess's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image essby
1 review
Dec 2016
They were very efficient and ontime. Had to walk to their offic (about 10 minute walk) Stopped for an authenntic/excellent lunch and went kayaking in a beautiful lagoon after.
Read essby's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shoretours
Member Image baileybrad
3 reviews
Dec 2016
Outstanding in every way. David Villagomez, our guide, was knowledgeable and personable. Clean and new buses. Felt very safe with this company. Ruins were impressive to see and hear about. High recommend.
Read baileybrad's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Native Choice
Member Image romcomwriter
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Long bus ride but excellent tour. Well worth the money.
Read romcomwriter's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image coachjohnp
1 review
Dec 2016
A short walk to tour operator location and then 45 minute bus ride to ruins. Very knowledgeable tour guide. Not rushed at all. Back in plenty of time to get back on the ship
Read coachjohnp's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?