Curacao Cave Tour Excursion Reviews

Curacao Cave Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore the Hato Caves -- the deepest and longest cave formation in Curacao -- home to beautiful limestone decor, waterfalls and the famous Madonna Statue.
Member Image Yurko
1 review
Apr 2017
Seeing the caves was amazing! Saw lots of bats too!! Many steep stairs and close spaces, so not for the faint of heart or folks with mobility issues.
Read Yurko's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mowilliams1
1 review
Mar 2017
We wanted to take more pictrues but could only take pictures in one part of the cave. You need to be able to walk up a lot of steps for this tour.
Read mowilliams1's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Damspyder
1 review
Mar 2017
We did a City, Caves and Beach tour, which we enjoyed. Not big beach people, but enjoyed snorkeling for about an hour. Enjoyed seeing the city. Cave was nothing special.
Read Damspyder's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rosie
Member Image Harley Granny
4 reviews
Feb 2017
very cool cave....be prepared to walking up 49 very steep steps....then back down again.
Read Harley Granny's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image triumph boy
2 reviews
Jan 2017
We have done 4 cave tours and this is the best. What you see is interesting, and once you climb the 49 stairs, the rest of the tour is easy.
Read triumph boy's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image KMTraveler
1 review
Jan 2017
Overall very good as compared to excursions on other islands. Tour guides were pleasant, on time, and helpful. One thing disappointing was that six of us were assigned to a second mini-van which followed the lead van. Not sure if mini-van was added because they were overbooked? In any case, space was very tight. Van could only hold 5 additional passengers comfortably.
Read KMTraveler's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Costco
Member Image ckaweigh
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Tour guide (Shadya) made this tour a great experience. Her English was perfect and you can tell she loves what she does. Saw Museum, Hato Caves, Distillery. Caves were best part.
Read ckaweigh's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image OurView
1 review
Jan 2017
Excellent, mind the 49 steps up & down to and from the cave.
Read OurView's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image kconstantine
1 review
Dec 2016
too late in the day and restrictions with regard to taking pictures . Also the stores closed by 7:30 and took off all the lights and we were still docked for3 hours
Read kconstantine's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image gamevod
4 reviews
Dec 2016
Caves are OK. City tour nice, Very good guide.
Read gamevod's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image TABG
6 reviews
Oct 2016
The Hato caves were very interesting and easy to navigate.
Read TABG's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MY79TA
2 reviews
Oct 2016
The caves were pretty cool. Also got a tour of part of the island and learned a little history.
Read MY79TA's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image eviet
3 reviews
May 2016
Nice caves; photos allowed just before you exit. There is a nice area tour guide allows photos. It's buy an opening above in the cave. Really nice area to shoot photos. However, nothing overly exciting.
Read eviet's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image aimsrock
1 review
Mar 2016
The cave was cool with bats flying around. Lots of steps involved. Also included was the city walking tour this was kinda boring with historical sights. The floating bridge was really neat.
Read aimsrock's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bobito
9 reviews
Oct 2015
Great Island/ City/ Cave tour. Guide, Ileana, doubt I am spelling it correctly was excellent. The Cave were nice and the waling tour informative
Read bobito's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MermaidDreams
1 review
Jan 2015

Neat place, not too much effort needed apart from climbing the 40+ stairs to the top. Hot inside, andnot good for people with claustraphobia or who can become overheated easily.

Read MermaidDreams's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TonyL128
1 review
Dec 2014

Caves & City Center, CU85. We started off with a short bus ride to the Hato Caves close to the airport. These caves are above sea level in the hills, so, it's hot and humid inside. The areas open to the public is not very extensive and the whole tour will last about 35 minutes, there is some climbing, but the whole tour is on paved paths. Our guide was knowledgeable and entertaining.

The second part of the excursion was a guided city center walking tour. Our tour guide was articulate and well informed. Being this was on a national holiday and most places were closed, our tour lasted about an hour and ended at the Swinging bridge just outside of the cruise ship terminal.

Read TonyL128's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image serenebcruiser
1 review
Nov 2014

One of the places the local taxi driver took us was to the caves. My husband took that tour with another couple while the rest of us went to a have some refreshments. My husband said it was extremely humid in the caves and it was a good thing I decided not to go.

Read serenebcruiser's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: island taxi service
Member Image rolanduzer
5 reviews
Nov 2014

The caves were interesting, but as with the rest of the tour, they rush everyone through so you can't enjoy what you are seeing. I am sure it is boring to a tour guide that sees it every day, but I have never been and would like a few minutes to look at all the formations.

Read rolanduzer's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image retiring soon
16 reviews
Nov 2014

This also was an interesting tour but unfortunately you can't take many pictures in the caves. The walk through the park around it was lovely with Iguanas, Snails & lovely flora. We also did a walk around the Town where I finally got to see the Oldest Synagogue in the Western Hemisphere but was unwilling to part with $10 US to see inside. The walkway back to the ship was great with nice shops & also a place where one could access free wifi. I really enjoyed Curacao this time.

Read retiring soon's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image keithm
6 reviews
Jan 2014

Hato caves are a nice place to take a tour. The guides lead you down into the caves, giving a detailed history. Lots of bats visible(fruit bats)The climb up (yes up!) can be quite hard on thos with limited moblity a few had to turn back.

Read keithm's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image keithm
6 reviews
Jan 2014

City tour was nice showing you all the Dutch style buildings painted in bright colors.Lots of shops to explore.

Read keithm's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Steve551
10 reviews
Nov 2013

Our third stop was Curacao. We took the Discover Curacao Island Tour. We loved Curacao! The bad part was that we docked at 2pm (3pm local time) so by the time we returned from our tour it was getting dark and many of the shops closed. The tour was nice, nothing spectacular. Curacao is on our list of places that we will visit again.

Read Steve551's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image JWYBLF
2 reviews
Nov 2013

The specialty guide at the cave took over and was informative

Read JWYBLF's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image FamilyTravels4
1 review
Jul 2013

CU85-Caves & City Tour-Great excursion

Read FamilyTravels4's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?