Cozumel Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Do not miss out on Cozumel's famous Mayan Ruins! Learn about Mayan civilization, culture, folklore, and unsolved mysteries.
Member Image caneman301
1 review
Jun 2017
Amazing! Give you a sense of how civilization as evolved and still remain the same such as the 364/365 days year Mayan concept.
Read caneman301's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Grammie get down
1 review
Jun 2017
Way to humid and hot!! But great experience. Not enough time at location. I wouldn't suggest going because of time restrains.
Read Grammie get down's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cyanes
1 review
May 2017
While service e was excellent time in chichen itza is too short 1.5 hours after been in a bus for 2 hours + 2 hours to get back RC should give more time in this port as distance is big from port and excursions are expensive
Read cyanes's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Triumphdeb
2 reviews
May 2017
Long day but worth the trip.
Read Triumphdeb's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image christy_carter
1 review
May 2017
Take some extra money with you and buy a beautiful handmade hammock! Love mine. The vendor started out high but you can talk them down for a really good deal if you are good. The beach was beautiful and we had about an hour an a half to enjoy the colorful turquoise water. Get your picture made for just $2 with two live can get beautiful McCall parrots at the ruins. You can get photos taken at the beach but the guys there wanted more money. Great excursion for elderly too. My mom loved it!
Read christy_carter's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Fourmikes
1 review
May 2017
The excursion to Tulum Mayan Ruins exceeded our expectations. Ernesto was kind, thoughtful, and very well organized. He made sure we had a clear understanding of what we were about to experience and prepared us for each leg of the journey. Safety was a main priority starting with a reminder to wear our seat belts as Jonathan safely navigated the roads very quickly. His concern for our safety and comfort continued as he turned us over to our guide through the ruins when he handed us all waters to ensure we stayed hydrated throughout the tour. During the tour, Juan Ramón, impressed us with his knowledge and his ability to share it in a way we could understand. He made it a point to make sure we understood by using stories we could relate to and pictures. His enthusiasm and obvious appreciation for the Mayan culture kept our attention during the entire tour. After the tour Ernesto met up with us once again and continued being a gracious host and served us a delicious lunch and drinks. We arrived safely back to Cozumel with amazing pictures, stories, and a better understanding and greater appreciation for the Tulum Mayan Ruins.
Read Fourmikes's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Tour Finder
Member Image WhatChuLookingAt
1 review
May 2017
See my main review for descriptions. If you're offered Dramamine at the gathering point for the trip, take it. Going to Chiten-Itza requires almost 6 hours of travel for about 90 minutes on site - realize this before taking the trip. That being said it's a quick bucket list item that you can check off.
Read WhatChuLookingAt's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image indiana71
6 reviews
Apr 2017
The Mayan Ruins in Cozumel are not large. We were there 45 minutes and then the tour guide narrated as we rode through the island. The bus was air-conditioned and comfortable.
Read indiana71's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Medic9701
4 reviews
Apr 2017
Stopped here at the recommendation of Pancho, our Jeep tour guide. Well worth $15 and your time to learn about and experience Mayan culture.
Read Medic9701's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Pueblo Del Maiz
Member Image Ted_Linda_L
1 review
Apr 2017
An extremely knowledgeable tour guide provided a wealth of information about the Mayan people, their life style and accomplishments. The ruins were inspiring, and the ancillary activities/performances there, ensured a memorable experience.
Read Ted_Linda_L's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image PanamaLady
1 review
Apr 2017
A wonderful explanation and tour of the Mayan fertility ruin. Then a short bus ride to the coral beach before stopping at the Mayan Chocolate factory... very, very informative and super yummy treats!
Read PanamaLady's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jrswillis
1 review
Apr 2017
$70 round trip taxi ride... do this in the morning because afternoons are HOT and more tourists on site... hire a guide (for $20 she was worth it, although her English was so-so at times) because the signage is poor and doesn't explain much. The kids will be bored unless you permit them to stalk and 'hunt' the numerous iguanas that bask on the stones everywhere. (We did. They couldn't catch any, but had fun trying.)
Read jrswillis's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: San Gervasio Mayan Ruins
Member Image djbjdper
3 reviews
Apr 2017
Not that impressed with this excursion. Mayan ruins were quite small and the area very dusty. The stop at the beach was okay, but you only had a few minutes there.
Read djbjdper's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image plumbdik
1 review
Apr 2017
There is not enough time to make it to the site from port. I would never recommend the Chichen Itza tour to anyone stopping in Cozumel and going to the site. Figure something else out because they did not do a good job with this tour. Very Very Disappointing.
Read plumbdik's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image demain
1 review
Apr 2017
This turned into a nine hour day including the ferry ride from Cozumel to mainland followed by a 3 hour ride in a crowded mini-van to the Chichen Itza site. On site time was about 1.25 hours at which time the travel was repeated. To far to ride in a small van, comfort would have been better in a full size bus.
Read demain's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lizzyplague
2 reviews
Apr 2017
Visited San Gervasio ruins, the best preserved on the island of Cozumel. A short ride from the cruise ship. Our guide, Edwin, was very informative and kept things interesting. Recommended for those who like historical tours.
Read lizzyplague's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image doc-mcstuffin
1 review
Mar 2017
The number of passengers the tour guide had to handle was too large. This took more time. We had just 1 hour at the site and was not able to go to all the structures. No time to get a souvenir or even taste local food or drink, as we had to get back to the ship on time.
Read doc-mcstuffin's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Vreenak
1 review
Mar 2017
The ruins were cool, and our guide was excellent. The tour also included a trip to The Mayan Cacao Company which was a lot of fun.
Read Vreenak's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image purbanik
1 review
Mar 2017
Required a taxi, ferry and shuttle to the ruins, but well worth the time and travel. We were provided water at the beginning and lunch to eat while traveling back to the ferry.
Read purbanik's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Costco
Member Image James The Greater
1 review
Mar 2017
Tour guide was very good little bit long-winded. Too many shops on the way to the ruins only want you to do is buy buy. Quite a number of merchandise is over-inflated.
Read James The Greater's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Lightngsvt
2 reviews
Mar 2017
Went to Chichen Itza, this tour is as good as it gets given the distance from Cozumel. Youll travel a total of 6 hours for a little over 1- hour at the ruins but they are so cool! The history of the Mayan culture is fascinating.
Read Lightngsvt's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image kmull102
1 review
Mar 2017
This tour was ok, boring at times and too many rules to follow. Once we got on the bus, we could not move to another seat for any portion of the rest of the day- Im not sure why. But this was disappointing to those of us who were separated from our travel companions, and for those in the the back of the bus, as we were not allowed to switch seats even after reaching a new stopping point.
Read kmull102's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image McCleary91
1 review
Mar 2017
We had a fantastic tour director & were very happy with our choice of excursions. The ferry ride (very rough waves) were unsettling both to & fro, but the crew about the ferry knew how to handle all the motion sickness issues. The bus ride was a bit long, but expected to travel into the Yucatan. While at the Chichen Itza, we enjoyed wonderful views and an excellent presentation from our tour guide. This was an excellent choice for us to visit the ruins. Very Very happy.
Read McCleary91's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jlblmcl
1 review
Mar 2017
Tulum was a great experience. Carlos the guide was entertaining and informative. the provided lunch was adequate and authentic. The beach was beautiful.
Read jlblmcl's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Selion
1 review
Mar 2017
Long ride to and from site (3 hours each way). Very informative though. Wish ship is in port longer for a longer time on site.
Read Selion's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?