Rome (Civitavecchia) Colosseum Excursion Reviews

Rome (Civitavecchia) Colosseum cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Rome's Colosseum, once home to brutal gladiatorial combat, is the largest amphitheater ever built in the Roman Empire. One of the new seven wonders of the world, this famous feat of architecture is not to be missed.
Member Image Al54
1 review
May 2017
"Glory of the gladiators" : a good ship-excursion with an excellent guide. In the morning visit of the Colosseum and the Forum (a lot of people!). Then, 2h30 of free time on Piazza Navona for lunch and personnal visits : a very well balanced excursion.
Read Al54's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image katethecookiemonster
2 reviews
May 2017
The colosseum was wonderful, but our experience with the excursion and the colosseum was not great. We had to wait outside for over half an hour while the tour guide argued with someone, and we were unable to enter into the special door where the gladiators would enter. The tour was called the glories of the gladiators for this reason, as we were told by the tour guide at least, so that was disappointing.
Read katethecookiemonster's full Azamara Quest cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image WallabyGal
2 reviews
May 2017
Rome is crazy! The president was there the same day we were so everything was rushed, there were crowds and tremendous security everywhere. The ruins of & near the Colosseum are amazing, but we had so little time anywhere that it detracted from it. My daughter had never been to Rome so wanted to go, but I suggest going to Tarquinia instead (fascinating Etruscan graves & museum) & spending more time in Rome on your own.
Read WallabyGal's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GeorgiaC222
1 review
Apr 2017
The Colosseum trip was fantastic, not only did I get to see it from the outside, I got to see it from the inside. It was a lovely thing to see, I would definitely like to see it again.
Read GeorgiaC222's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image zuume19
1 review
Feb 2017
Quite historical and not what Hollywood presents to us. For example, the Colosseum actually had a wooden floor with trap doors and a canvas-like covering like a large circus tent.
Read zuume19's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image ForneyTravelers
1 review
Jan 2017
We did a skip the line tour of the Colosseum and were able to go underneath and to the very top. It was very informative and exciting.
Read ForneyTravelers's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image Pfeilm
1 review
Nov 2016
Ancient Rome and Collosium with Underground, Arena and Upper Tier. Met at 8:15-, walked across the street promptly atb8:30a and then stood for 30 minutes listening to 'icela while awaiting our tour group entry time of approximately 9:00 to go through security and then turned over to the Collesium archeologist (historian) tour guide. The process irritated all. Watched many go straight through to include those without the skip the line tickets. Underground: begins on arena floor with your group only. Definitely neat being the only ones on the area a floor with all others looking on from the side lines, Excellent view of the uncovered underground. Continued to actual underground to view aqua system, boat pull outs and "elevator" for animal raising. Quite interesting. Upper tier: gives excellent views of arena floor and surrounding tiers along with the Forum and Pallatine Hill. Once inside of Colosseum is complete we were turned back over to Micela for the remaining Forum and Pallantine Hill tour. Micela was very good and could have given the inside portion as well if not better than the Colosseum required historian. She was informative and had the personality lacking from the Colosseum required historian. Recommend: would recommend the above, below and arena tour but would suggest going directly through the Colosseum vice a tied party for a discounted price since you're made to use them anyway. I would then recommend hiring someone for any additional touring you may wish if not comfortable with do it yourself, audio or Rick Steve tours. As for Micela, we would hire her for another tour outside the Colosseum.
Read Pfeilm's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image jetter314
1 review
Oct 2016
Used Viator skip the line Colosseum and Ancient Rome - our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable. Would recommend this tour
Read jetter314's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image ensign_bodybag
1 review
Oct 2016
Some free time to view the outside, but was not able to go in as the tour did not include it. Inside was available on a different tour but that was fully booked so we had to take this one..
Read ensign_bodybag's full Zenith cruise review
Provider: Pullmantur
Member Image ilstonio
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Took trip including internal/external. Staggering. One of the best trips I've ever been on. Was told entry would be 1 1/2 hrs but took 10 mins. Can't recommend enough. Guided tour about 2 hrs. Excellent guide. History heaven
Read ilstonio's full TUI Discovery cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image vanilla1207
3 reviews
Oct 2016
Even though I had been to the Colosseum before, I was pleased to learn more from the local guide and explore even more. Excellent!
Read vanilla1207's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Boyrauch
1 review
Oct 2016
We used the Rick Steves podcast tour of the Colosseum. It was great and allowed us to move at our leisure to learn about the site.
Read Boyrauch's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: coopculture
Member Image chanlynng
1 review
Sep 2016
Beautiful- feels incredible to stand in the middle of it and look around and imagine the things that went on here This tour was AMAZING! so much to do in one day, but Paola and Georgia were amazing! Everything was so well organized, we ate lunch right outside of the vatican, the whole tour was amazing- these girls were an incredible team!
Read chanlynng's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image LowPas1186
1 review
Sep 2016
Excellent tour. This location was part of the Best of Rome package.
Read LowPas1186's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Italytours.EU
Member Image Rosethorn40
17 reviews
Sep 2016
Great guide. In-depth tour of the Colosseum
Read Rosethorn40's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image TomBrem
1 review
Sep 2016
I just walked through. I was saving my feet to the Vatican.
Read TomBrem's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Bluewater21
1 review
Sep 2016
A terrific ''upstairs/downstairs'' tour of the Colosseum, partly with an archaeologist who really knew her stuff about both the arena and the below-ground history. Included the Palatine Hill and the Forum.
Read Bluewater21's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image g cooper
1 review
Sep 2016
It was like stepping back in time. I was in awe. Our time there was very short but it's something I will never forget.
Read g cooper's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cruisefan182
1 review
Aug 2016
Even with a fast track ticket the queues were very long, you cannot take any drinking water inside with you but keep your bottle as you can fill up at the taps inside. Beautiful and atmospheric place. Need to pre book tours of the underground parts of the Colosseum
Read cruisefan182's full Oceana cruise review
Provider: Colosseum directly
Member Image Islaverde
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Did Vatican/Colosseum tour with Joe Bananas
Read Islaverde's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Joe Banananas
Member Image Mrmemor7
1 review
Aug 2016
historical place
Read Mrmemor7's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: myself
Member Image Catherinec30
1 review
Aug 2016
Booked the glories of the gladiators tour via royal carribean. Very well organised, the Guide was brilliant and knew his stuff, there was hardly any queuing as we had been prebooked in and it wasn't too hot thanks to the early morning start. The Colosseum was amazing and well worth the trip. We had free time to have some lunch and look around ourselves before getting back on the ship.
Read Catherinec30's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Chars3011
1 review
Aug 2016
Beautiful but we didn't go in because the line was soooooooooooooo long
Read Chars3011's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image yummymummy11
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Beautiful place highlight of my day in Rome
Read yummymummy11's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Kate S
1 review
Jul 2016
It was expensive, but worth it. We saw the Colosseum, St. Peter’s, Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps. The Colosseum tour included the underground and it was excellent. We didn’t wait in line and had access to areas that general admission guests did not have. It is a 10-hour day as Rome is about 1.5 hours from the pier. Wear comfortable shoes! It was very, very, hot. Be sure to read all tour requirements. There are clothing requirements for St. Peter’s and there are no exceptions. I forgot to bring a scarf, but thankfully another tour guest had a scarf I could use (to cover my shoulders). There was some free time to wander and shop but you MUST be back at the meeting point on time – the tour continues with or without you. One guest on another tour in Rome got separated from his group and lost the emergency number everyone gets…just in case. It cost him $200 Euro to get back to the ship via taxi as he did not know how to access the public transportation (train) system that was much cheaper. We did not find this excursion overly taxing in terms of physical exertion (we are both 50 and in relatively good shape). We had plenty of time at all locations to take photos.
Read Kate S's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?