Naples Pompeii Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Naples Pompeii Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Tour the winding roads, ruins and architecture of Pompeii, the ancient town within modern day Naples that was lost in the eruption of Mount Vesuvius.
Member Image misslou_97
1 review
May 2017
The specialized guide Valeria was very good. She was interesting and passionnate about Pompeï. She knew her subject very well and answered all questions. She also took on her to ask the driver to stay half an hour more and everyone appreciated this extra time. The tour would have been excellent have we had more time to visit the whole site.
Read misslou_97's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Italytours.eu
Member Image WallabyGal
2 reviews
May 2017
Pompeii is amazing, it goes without saying. We also had a Neopolitan pizza (guide pointed out a great small old restaurant at the entrance to Pompeii), fabulous! Nothing like it. Excellent tour.
Read WallabyGal's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Bj_blue
1 review
May 2017
This was excellent. Hakim, our guide, was fun to be with and so knowledgeable. We were given virtual reality viewers and that made the experience come alive!
Read Bj_blue's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Sarawara
1 review
May 2017
Pompeii was really fascinating - this is the one place where I wished I had a tour guide to tell me all the interesting details. It was also very hot and crowded, so I would recommend coming earlier in the day. But so much history to behold! we really avoided the surrounding town as it is extremely touristy.
Read Sarawara's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Taxi (same as above)
Member Image samvandz
1 review
May 2017
We did the Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri excursion. Had this been the first day of the cruise, it would have been amazing. It is a little too much to cram into the day, and we would have preferred to do Sorrento and Capri on our own with time to explore, rather than 30-50 minutes in each place.
Read samvandz's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mandaj07
1 review
May 2017
There are a lot of tours you can do independently. If you want to see both Pompeii and the Amalfi coast on your shore day, it is so much better to do this through the cruise line. We had the best guide, and we kept moving the entire time. We had frequent bathroom breaks. Pompeii was beyond amazing, as was the Amalfi coast. Even so, we were constantly on the move. This day was go go go. I felt comfortable doing this much through RC vs. an independent operator.
Read mandaj07's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Methusulah
1 review
May 2017
On our own. Very good
Read Methusulah's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 107duhaime
1 review
May 2017
Our tour guides name was Vito. This is a great man. He really made our day. Not to mention that Pompei was awesome!
Read 107duhaime's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image iamenu
1 review
Apr 2017
Pompeii in the morning, Amalfi coast driving tour with stop in Positano afterwards. We set up the tour and it quickly filled to 8 people, so it was only 80 EU per person. Pompeii was excellent - great info. Traffic created issues with Amalfi drive, so our time in town was very limited and we completely skipped Ravena. People in the back seat got a bit tossed around and couldnt see as well, but I was in front and thought it was awesome.
Read iamenu's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: APTours
Member Image lampadjuster
1 review
Apr 2017
Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius. LOTS of walking so wear good shoes and be in reasonable shape. There was a man in our group who had to use a cane. We spent time having to wait for him to keep up. Fortunately he did not come on the actual tours. Not to be callous but read the description people! The climb up Mt. Vesuvius is quite taxing--footing is not great, and the climb is very steep. Because it was a holiday when we were there, we lost an hour sitting in the line up of traffic to get in, so had only 90 minutes there. It took a half hour to get to the very top of the crater, walking as fast as we could, without stopping except to catch our breath. Then we essentially had to hurry back down. Views are beautiful, if hazy. Could see steam coming out of the sides of the crater, which was a bit unsettling! The tour of Pompeii was very good, except it did not include the museum. We were expecting to see the casts of the people that you see in photos in books, but they were not in place in the ruins. They must be in the museum. We were taken by surprise that we had to come up with the admittance fees for both places: that information was not included on the tickets that we received, but was on the website when we checked back--actually the website said only that the guide would collect a fee for Pompeii, not for Mt Vesuvius. And when she asked for the fee for Pompeii (which we saw first) she did not mention that she would be asking again for a fee for Mt Vesuvius later!!! Since it was almost 50 Euros total (2 adults, 2 venues) that cost was not insubstantial and should either be included in/added to the price of the tour or else clearly stated on the ticket. I would venture that not one person on our bus was prepared for that expense. So vendors along the way lost out on trade, and not sure how much the guides got in tips. The price, even if the ticket costs were added in, was still a lot less than the ship's tour of the same thing, so I doubt that they would lose business by including entrance fees in the tour cost. Also, our "guide" on the bus did not deliver the information set out in the description of the tour. We had a young girl who was looking after her sister, talking to the driver and constantly checking her phone, and she did not offer us any information as we were travelling on the bus. We had to ask her questions which she did not have the English capacity to answer. We take excursions to learn about the places we are visiting and felt we did not get what we bargained for in this instance. The guide who led us through Pompeii (Susie) DID know her stuff and did a wonderful job of providing descriptions and explanations.
Read lampadjuster's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: World Tours (booked throughExpedia)
Member Image john and yvette
1 review
Feb 2017
once in a lifetime visit. guide was so, so
Read john and yvette's full Viking Sky cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image spitfirepete
1 review
Dec 2016
Great site and guide....but in morning only 20 minutes on our own in Napoli.
Read spitfirepete's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image magicfloral
1 review
Dec 2016
Great trip, wonderful guide, lots of walking so beware.
Read magicfloral's full Pacific Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Pacer6
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Quality, informative all too short (just not enough time in the day) from an excellent tour guide arrqnged for by See Amalfi Coast hosts for the day.
Read Pacer6's full Pacific Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image wadzsy65
1 review
Nov 2016
Pompeii was great the ride through the city afterwards was not good. Should have taken us back to the ship.
Read wadzsy65's full Pacific Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image presbyter
1 review
Nov 2016
Guide was very good. The ruins were very crowded. Unfortunately one of the passengers harassed the guide through most of the tour. The guide finally told him to leave the tour, which improved things.
Read presbyter's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image SLydon
1 review
Nov 2016
I took the Metro line 1 to Garabildi station and the train to Pompeii. This line includes Herculaneum and other towns. Between the metro and the train €2+€6, then entrance fee €11 and audio guide €8 I reached the site at 10.00 and took the return train at 16.30 giving me just enough time to see the site (but going at a decent pace) and return to the ship half an hour before the ship left (which was cutting it fine given Italian trains)
Read SLydon's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: public train
Member Image dutchgirl17
1 review
Nov 2016
Highly recommend this tour! Only had time to do the one tour, but this was well worth the time and money.
Read dutchgirl17's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image mgounaris
1 review
Nov 2016
morning tour prior to afternoon Herculaneum. Had to return to ship instead between tours. Viking should coordinate this better so you don't waste time like that. Actual tour was fine.
Read mgounaris's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image ghavers
1 review
Nov 2016
Very good guide. Could have spent more time in Pom[eii and not bothered with stop at cameo factory
Read ghavers's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image san diego spartan
5 reviews
Nov 2016
Easy booking, easy to find tour group once off the ship. Guide, while nice, had heavy accent which made listening to her difficulty. Be prepared LOTS of walking and uneven surfaces.
Read san diego spartan's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image BarbarianPaul
2 reviews
Nov 2016
Don't miss this. As incredible as we had anticipated.
Read BarbarianPaul's full Seven Seas Explorer cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image tony s
5 reviews
Nov 2016
We booked a tour via cruise critic,which was great. However when we got to Pompeii we were informed we would have to pay extra for another guide. We declined,always ask up front what is NOT included
Read tony s's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image trippingtraveller
5 reviews
Nov 2016
Walk around Pompei is hard work! Worth it though. 122 acres and 2 1/2 hours of walking and standing. Very crowded at Pompei. Expect a visit to a shop selling Cameo jewellery.
Read trippingtraveller's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Paulosprey
1 review
Oct 2016
Pompeii was an essential visit and did not disappoint.
Read Paulosprey's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?